The best smell EVER.

8 Jun

You can spot Russian Olives by looking for the bush/tree things with very light green leaves.

I absolutely LOVE the smell of Russian Olive trees. Which is good because at this time of year in Colorado, you smell them everywhere. I smell them in parking lots, on runs, walking in to work, in my car on the way to church, in my backyard – and every time I do, I stand there with my nose in the air like a hound dog or the mouse on Ratatouille, waving my hand in front of my nose to prolong my savoring of the scent.

Seriously, if there were such a thing as Russian Olive extract (there isn’t, I’ve checked), I would make potpourri, infuse my pillow cases, sprinkle my carpet, baste my walls, and wash my clothes in it. I honestly don’t think I could ever get sick of it.

Mmmm... Russian Olive

You might be wondering, why doesn’t she just plant a Russian Olive tree in her backyard and serenade it with love songs?

Well, I’ve thought about that but the thing is, they’re considering a pest plant. They use a lot of water, have long nasty thorns, and just aren’t a tree you would really want to plant in your own backyard. (Not to mention the task of finding a nursery that would sell them! Maybe I could just transplant one from the open space near my house…)

So for now, I’ll just get a good whiff (or two or three) of them whenever I step outside. I only wish its blooms were fragrant all year long!

 

6 Responses to “The best smell EVER.”

  1. Tatiana June 23, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

    I thought I was the only person who loves this scent. I tell people, and they say, “oh, ya. I don’t smell it.” I think I found a soul sista!

  2. Celia January 17, 2013 at 8:15 am #

    Russian Olives smell better than anything else in the world. Hands down.

  3. Maria May 24, 2014 at 8:08 pm #

    One of my favorite scents in the whole world! I wish they made a perfume of it!

  4. Lisa Adams June 1, 2016 at 7:30 pm #

    Someone said the perfume Shisedo Sado is similar. This is the best smell ever!!!!!

  5. specialkkluthe June 1, 2016 at 7:32 pm #

    I will have to check that out! Thanks Lisa.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Training Recap: 3/19 – 3/25 « - March 26, 2012

    […] with, it’s warm but not hot, and best of all, it’s the season of tulips, Easter, and Russian Olive trees. I told Travis that I’m going to work remotely from a Russian Olive tree once they bloom. […]

Leave a comment